skip to main content
ALERT: Escape
YouTube icon image 
ALERT: Escape
Home  |  Intranet  |  Contact  

Business and Finance Division

Accounting & Business Services Department

Accounts Payable

Accounts Payable ensures payments are processed in compliance with Federal, State, and Agency rules and regulations. It is our intent to process payments within the 30-day timeframe established by the Legislature.

Vendor Forms

Payment Services

  • Audits and vouchers payments against contracts or purchase orders to ensure compliance with agency and legislative rules, regulations and statutes
  • Monitors and reconciles expenditures, encumbrances, budgetary coding and terms to ensure compliance
  • Schedules payments in compliance with the Texas Prompt Payment Law

Team Leader: Phone: (936) 437-6216

Invoice Services:

  • Researches and reconciles vendors’ accounts and provides payment status; issues tax exemption certificates and vendor information letters to vendors
  • Monitors and tracks discounted invoices and ensures prompt processing
  • Mails out warrants and verifies direct deposit transmittals to vendors
  • Maintains vendor identification files in coordination with the Comptroller of Public Accounts

Team Leader: (936) 437-6218

Accounts Payable Management

Phone: (936) 437-6085

Assistant Manager
Phone: (936) 437-8606

Most Common Vendor-Related Questions

1. When can I expect payment and how is the due date calculated?

ANSWER: Payment of an invoice is scheduled according to the Texas Prompt Payment Law. The law states that payment for goods and services is due 30 days after receipt of the goods and/or service or receipt of a valid invoice, whichever is later.

2. Is it possible to receive payment before the payment due date?

ANSWER: The only exceptions for early payment of an invoice are: (1) the vendor offers a discount for early payment that is cost effective to the agency and state; or (2) an exception allowed by the Comptroller of Public Accounts. Discounted invoices may be e-mailed to

3. Can I check for payment status on-line?

ANSWER: The Comptroller of Public Accounts has a State-to-Vendor Payment Information website available 24 hours a day. The following information is required to access this website: Personal Identification Number (PIN); the Texas Identification Number and category; and the State Agency Number (the number for TDCJ is 696). The information will include the type of payment (direct deposit or warrant), date payment was issued and amount paid. To determine the invoice number paid, click on the payment field (warrant or direct deposit) and the detailed information will be displayed.

4. What are the advantages of electronic funds transfer (direct deposit) versus a paper warrant?

ANSWER: Electronic funds transfer transactions are transmitted directly from the Treasury to the vendor’s financial institution. The advantages are: (1) both the vendor and the state reduce costs because the process is paperless; (2) mail delays are eliminated; and (3) the direct deposit allows the vendor to receive payment faster.

5. How do I receive payments via direct deposit?

ANSWER: The TDCJ Substitute W-9 Form is available under the Vendor Forms heading listed above. The completed form can be returned to Accounts Payable via e-mail, or mail.

6. Why are there delays in processing some invoices?

ANSWER: There are a number of reasons that payment of an invoice may be delayed. Some of the reasons are:

  • Invoice is not sent to the address listed on the purchase order or contract
  • The unit price listed on the invoice is different than the price on the purchase order or contract
  • There is an overage or a shortage on the items shipped (a credit memo or a purchase order change notice will be required – this can be a very time consuming process)
  • Goods have been damaged, have not been received or the service rendered has not been completed
  • There is no purchase order number or contract number listed on the invoice
  • The invoice contains items that were not included on the purchase order
  • If the invoice total exceeds the amount of the contract or purchase order (a follow-up call from the Invoice Services Team may result if additional information is required [corrected invoice, credit memo, price discrepancy, etc.]); or
  • Necessary documentation, required by your purchase order or contact, is not submitted with your invoice (count sheets, bills of lading, pricing sheets, etc.).

7. Where do I send my invoices for payment?

ANSWER: Unless otherwise stated in your contract or purchase order, invoices should be sent to Accounts Payable. The mailing address for Accounts Payable is:

Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Attention: Accounts Payable
PO Box 4018
Huntsville, TX 77342-4018

The overnight express delivery address is:

Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Attention: Accounts Payable
861-B-IH 45, Room 238
Huntsville, TX 77320

Vendors offering a discount may e-mail invoices to Accounts Payable. Only discounted invoices may be emailed. All other invoices shall be sent to the addresses above. The address is: