skip to main content
ALERT - Visitation
YouTube icon image 


2019 Governor’s Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Awards

Huntsville-Based Ministry Receives Governor's Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Award

Standing: (l-r) TBCJ Chairman Dale Wainwright, TDCJ Correctional Training Program Supervisor C. F. Hazlewood, Rick Pritchard, Texas State Representative James White, and TDCJ Executive Director Bryan Collier. Seated: (l-r) Dustin Cackley and Lloyd Sparks.

(AUSTIN) – The Armatus Reintegration Program of Huntsville, Texas was presented the Reentry and Integration Division Award during the Governor’s 2019 Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Award program today.

The award was presented by Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Dale Wainwright and TDCJ Executive Director Bryan Collier during a ceremony held in Austin.

“Volunteering is a responsibility that these recipients have embraced wholeheartedly and for that we are extremely grateful,” said Wainwright.

“These volunteers dedicate themselves each day to helping others succeed,” said Collier. “For many years to come, the impact of that invaluable time and effort invested will be felt across the state of Texas.”

Rick Pritchard, CEO of the Armatus Reintegration Program, founded it after his involvement in faith-based dorms at the Estelle Unit and Ferguson Unit. He recognized a need for incarcerated veterans to have access to evidence-based curriculum that addressed PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disease), parenting, domestic violence, anger management and job training.

Armatus Reintegration Program is one of 6 organizations and 16 individuals from across the state recognized for their efforts to help inmates and those who are on parole or probation. They donate many hours of their personal time every year with the goal of changing the lives of convicted offenders, and aiding and comforting their victims.

In FY2018, there were 21,728 volunteers who provided a total of 399,705 hours of service.

Note to media: For more information, contact Jeremy Desel, TDCJ Director of Communications, at 936-437-6052 or by e-mail at – For high resolution photos of award recipients, contact Jeff Linderman at