ALERT - Delayed Openings
YouTube icon image 

Rehabilitation Programs Division

Volunteer Services Program

2016 Governor’s Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Awards

Levelland-Based Ministries Receives Governor's 2016 Criminal Justice Volunteer Award

Photo of Award Winner(s) From left to right: Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Dale Wainwright, Freedom in Jesus Ministries Director Don Castleberry, Donna Castleberry and Texas Department of Criminal Justice Executive Director Brad Livingston.

(AUSTIN) – Freedom in Jesus Ministries from Levelland, Texas was presented the Community Service Award during the Governor's 2016 Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Award program today.

The award was presented by Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Dale Wainwright and TDCJ Executive Director Brad Livingston during a ceremony held in Austin.

"The unwavering dedication of these volunteers to help others succeed is truly inspiring," said Livingston. "The impact of their efforts will be felt across the state of Texas for many years to come."

"Volunteering is not a choice for the men and women being recognized today," said Wainwright. "They see it as a responsibility and for that we're thankful."

Freedom in Jesus Ministries holds weekend gospel crusades, teaches classes in three TDCJ units and has a Correspondence Discipleship Ministry with over 4,000 offenders receiving their teaching packages every two months at more than 70 TDCJ units and also to prisons in 15 other states.

For their dedication, Freedom in Jesus Ministries has been chosen to receive the Community Service volunteer award. Freedom in Jesus Ministries is one of 6 organizations and 15 individuals from across the state recognized for their efforts to help inmates and those who are on parole or probation. They donate many hours of their personal time every year with the goal of changing the lives of convicted offenders, and aiding and comforting their victims.

In FY2015, there were over 22,000 volunteers who provided a total of 262,442 hours of service.

Note to media: For more information, contact Jason Clark, TDCJ Public Information Director, at 936-437-6052 or by e-mail at – For high resolution photos of award recipients, contact Jene Andersen at