ALERT - Delayed Openings
YouTube icon image 

Rehabilitation Programs Division

Volunteer Services Program

2014 Governor’s Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Awards

Kenedy Man Receives Governor’s Criminal Justice Administrator Award

Warden Joe Grimes was unable to attend the ceremony. Prison and Jail Operations Deputy Director Robert Eason accepted on his behalf. From left to right: Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Oliver Bell, Robert Eason, Keynote Speaker Judge Cathy Cochran and Texas Department of Criminal Justice Executive Director Brad Livingston.

(Austin) – Joe Grimes of Kenedy, Texas was presented the Criminal Justice Administrator award during the Governor’s 2014 Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Award program today.

The award was presented by Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Oliver Bell, and TDCJ Executive Director Brad Livingston during a ceremony held in Austin. Grimes is one of 15 individuals and 6 organizations from across the state recognized for their efforts to help inmates and those who are on parole or probation.

Grimes is the Senior Warden at the Connally Unit in Kenedy. He is a leader with strong core values and a strong desire to promote positive change in offender behavior through proven programs. He consistently portrays the leadership and vision of the TDCJ mission towards offender rehabilitation.

One of his innovations was incorporating medium custody (G4) offenders into KAIROS religious services. In the past, offenders at this custody level were not always able to participate in these programs. Because offenders at this level often show a negative attitude towards rehabilitation while lacking personal skills and being unable to deal with anger management issues, Warden Grimes sought out volunteers with Anger Management Certification. This action led to a new initiative in identifying individual offenders who showed a willingness to change.

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice extends its congratulations to Senior Warden Joe Grimes on being named Criminal Justice Administrator of the Year.

Note to media: For more information, contact Jason Clark at – Photos of award recipients will be available on the TDCJ Web site at For high resolution photos, please contact Jene Andersen at