criminal justice connections grainy background grainy background grainy background
current issue archives TDCJ directory TDCJ homepage Contact
saluting employees

Community supervision line officers recognized

awardees standing with their awards
The Judicial Advisory Council recently honored Adult Probation Outstanding Line Officers. l-r: Linda Potts of El Paso County, Jennifer Hardin of Parker County, Michael Hartman of Comal County, David Rodriguez of Harris County, and Sandy Lopez of San Patricio County.

Photo by Jene Robbins

On January 12, 2007, the Judicial Advisory Council (JAC) – which advises the Texas Board of Criminal Justice on matters of interest to the judiciary -- honored five Texas community supervision officers. Each year, the JAC recognizes officers whose outstanding contributions to their profession have resulted in a positive impact on the community, clients, co-workers, and the people of Texas. Judge Larry Gist, chair of the JAC, emphasized that these dedicated line officers and their peers are the corner stone of Texas community supervision.

Nominated by their departmental colleagues, the following honorees received awards:

John Jackson of Parker County Community Supervision and Corrections Department (CSCD) characterized Jennifer Hardin as “… an officer who acts as an encouraging, caring, compassionate, and positive role model for her probationers and enables them to address critical issues such as alcohol and drug abuse so that they decide voluntarily to go into treatment.” Hardin is a graduate of Tarleton State University and holds a duel major in criminal justice and accounting.

Director George Madison from Comal County CSCD commended Officer Michael Hartman, a licensed social worker and chemical dependency counselor, for his broad professional experience, proficiency in the use of progressive sanctions and rehabilitative opportunities for offenders, and his mentorship of interns. Known to show compassion for his clients, Hartman is motivated to improve their lives through confrontation, rehabilitation and corrective action when necessary.

Director Steve Enders of West Texas CSCD (El Paso) credited Officer Linda Potts for her outstanding reputation with El Paso judges, an excellent work ethic, meticulous casework, and good rapport with her clients whom she not only assists but also holds accountable in keeping the conditions of their probation. Retired from the New Mexico Department of Probation and Parole, Potts has been with El Paso’s department for four years.

Director Paul Becker of Harris County CSCD acknowledged David Rodriguez as a results-oriented officer committed to maximizing the productive potential of probationers and encouraging them to lead a law-abiding life-style. A grateful former client gave Officer Rodriguez a plaque that praised him “… for being the one person who believed in me and gave me back my life.” Rodriguez, an 18-year veteran of the department, is a member of the Harris County Grand Jury and is active with Little League, Boy Scouts, and the High School Band Association.

Jorge Sanchez of San Patricio County CSCD recognized Officer Sandy Lopez as “…the epitome of a dedicated professional … who, in utilizing evidence-based practices, strives every day to improve the conduct and behavior of offenders in the community and thereby, provides a higher standard of public safety that reduces the possibility of crimes being committed in our community.” Lopez, the coordinator of the department’s Substance Abuse Felony Punishment Facility (SAFPF), supervises an average of 70 SAFPF placements through the Glossbrenner Unit in San Diego and maintains field contacts with the transitional treatment centers in Victoria and Corpus Christi.

Bonita White, director, Texas Department of Criminal Justice-Community Justice Assistance Division, thanked the honorees for their focused work ethic, effective leadership, and skillful use of all available resources and strategies in assisting probationers to become contributors to society.

back to top

To view Retirees list (pdf format), click here.

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view list. To download Reader, click here

Acrobat Reader icon

To view the Services Awards (pdf format),
click here.

featurestraining and conferencessaluting employeesagency news