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months following the panel decision date; or (2) 
HB 1914 Cases – Deny release and set the 
next review date for 60, 84, or 120 months 
following the panel decision date. 

 CU/SA (Month/Year-Cause Number): Deny 

parole with no regular subsequent review. (1) 
SB 45 Cases – The offender’s minimum or 
maximum expiration date is less than 60 
months away. The offender will continue to 
serve their sentence until that date; or (2) HB 
1914 Cases – The offender’s minimum or 
maximum expiration date is less than 120 
months away. The offender will continue to 
serve their sentence until that date. 

 
HB 1433 CASES – DISCRETIONARY MANDATORY 
SUPERVISION VOTING OPTIONS 
 

This legislation requires the Board to review some 
offenders prior to release to mandatory supervision. To 
deny mandatory supervision, a parole panel must 
determine that accrued good conduct time is not an 
accurate reflection of the offender’s potential for 
rehabilitation AND that the offender’s release would 

endanger the public.  The two voting options are: 

 DMS:  Deny release to mandatory supervision 

and set the next mandatory supervision review 
date one year from the panel decision date. 

 RMS:  Release to mandatory supervision.   

 
CONTACT INFORMATION 
 

Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles 
8610 Shoal Creek Boulevard 

Austin, Texas 78757 
T 512-406-5452 
F 512-406-5482 

E bpp_pio@tdcj.texas.gov 
Website www.tdcj.texas.gov/bpp 

 

For more information on the parole process, please visit 
the website. 
 

For information on the parole review status of an 

offender, please visit the website and select the 

“Offender Search/Parole Review Information” link or 

call the toll free number. 
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offender is not serving an offense under Section 
508.149(a), Government Code, deny release and order 
serve-all, but in no event shall this be utilized if the 
offender’s maximum expiration date is over one year 
from the date of the panel decision. 
 

FULL BOARD PAROLE DECISIONS – SB 45 AND 
HB 1914 
 

In accordance with Texas Government Code Section 
508.046, a two-thirds majority vote of the Board is 
necessary for parole decisions involving: offenders 
convicted of or serving a sentence for a capital felony, 
an offense under Section 20A.03 [Continuous 
Trafficking of Persons], Section 21.02 [Continuous 
Sexual Abuse of Young Child or Children], Section 
21.11(a)(1) [Indecency with a Child], or Section 22.021 
[Aggravated Sexual Assault] of the Penal Code, or 
offenders required under Texas Government Code 
Section 508.145(c) to serve 35 calendar years before 
becoming eligible for release on parole.  
 

Approval Votes 

 FI-1, FI-4R, FI-9R, FI-18R, and CU/FI. 
 

These offenders, except capital felons serving a life 
sentence and those convicted of or serving a sentence 
for Aggravated Sexual Assault, are eligible for up to a 5 
year set-off. Capital felons serving a life sentence and 
those offenders with Aggravated Sexual Assault 
offenses are eligible for up to a 10 year set-off.  
 

Denial Votes  

 NR (Month/Year):  Deny parole and set time for 

next parole consideration. (1) SB 45 Cases - 
Deny release and set the next review date for 
36 or 60 months following the panel decision 
date; or (2) HB 1914 Cases – Deny release and 
set the next review date for 36, 60, 84, or 120 
months following the panel decision date. 

 SA:  Deny parole with no regular subsequent 

review. (1) SB 45 Cases – The offender’s 
minimum or maximum expiration date is less 
than 60 months away. The offender will 
continue to serve their sentence until that date; 
or (2) HB 1914 Cases – The offender’s 
minimum or maximum expiration date is less 
than 120 months away. The offender will 
continue to serve their sentence until that date. 

 CU/NR (Month/Year-Cause Number): Deny 

parole and set time for next parole 
consideration. (1) SB 45 Cases - Deny release 
and set the next review date for 36 or 60 
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PAROLE REVIEW PROCESS 
 

The Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) 
Parole Division identifies offenders six months prior to 
their initial parole eligibility date and pulls their files to 
begin the parole review process.  In subsequent 
reviews, cases are identified four months prior to the 
offender’s next review date.  
  
A notice is sent to trial officials/victims/victims’ families to 
advise them of the review and allow comments.  An 
Institutional Parole Officer interviews the offender and 
prepares a parole case summary for Board review. 
 

The offender’s file is sent to the assigned Board office 
for consideration by a parole panel. 
 

Parole panel members must grant an interview to a 
victim (as defined by statute) upon request. 
 

Interviewing the offender is at the discretion of the lead 
parole panel member. 
 

Other than victims as defined by statute, granting 
interviews to individuals in support or protest of an 
offender’s release is also at the discretion of the lead 
parole panel member. 
 

 A panel consists of three members, typically 
one Board Member and two Parole 
Commissioners; 

 The first voting member reviews and votes the 
case; 

 The case then goes to the second voting 
member, who reviews and votes the case; 

 If the first two votes are similar, the vote is final; 

 If the first two votes differ, the third member 
reviews the case and breaks the tie. 

 

The offender is notified of the parole panel decision via 
correspondence.   
 
FACTORS CONSIDERED IN VOTING A CASE 

 Seriousness of the offense(s); 

 Sentence length/amount of time served; 

 Offender’s age; 

 Juvenile history; 

 Criminal history (prior probation/parole); 

 Number of prison incarcerations; 

 Other arrests; 

 Institutional adjustment (participation in  
proposed or specialized prison programs); 

 Letters of support and/or protest. 

PAROLE PANEL VOTING OPTIONS 
 

Approval Votes 

 FI-1: Release the offender when eligible. 

 FI-2 (Month/Year): Release on a specified 

future date. 

 FI-3R (Month/Year): Transfer to a TDCJ 

rehabilitation program. Release to parole only 
after program completion and not earlier than 
three months from specified date. Such TDCJ 
program may include either 
CHANGES/Lifeskills, Voyager, Segovia Pre-
Release Center (Segovia PRC), or any other 
approved tier program. 

 FI-4R (Month/Year): Transfer to a TDCJ 

rehabilitation program. Release to parole only 
after program completion and not earlier than 
four months from specified date. Such TDCJ 
program shall be the Sex Offender Education 
Program (SOEP). 

 FI-5: Transfer to In-Prison Therapeutic 

Community Program (IPTC). Release to 
aftercare component only after completion of 
IPTC program.  

 FI-6: Transfer to a DWI Program and release to 

a continuum of care program. 

 FI-6R (Month/Year): Transfer to a TDCJ 

rehabilitation program. Release to parole only 
after program completion and no earlier than six 
months from specified date. Such TDCJ 
program may include the Pre-Release 
Therapeutic Community (PRTC), Pre-Release 
Substance Abuse Program (PRSAP), or In-
Prison Therapeutic Community Program 
(IPTC), or any other approved tier program. 

 FI-7R (Month/Year): Transfer to a TDCJ 

rehabilitation program. Release to parole only 
after program completion and not earlier than 
seven months from the specified date. Such 
TDCJ program shall be the Serious and Violent 
Offender Reentry Initiative (SVORI). 

 FI-9R (Month/Year): Transfer to a TDCJ 

rehabilitation program. Release to parole only 
after program completion and not earlier than 
nine months from specified date. Such TDCJ 
program shall be the Sex Offender Treatment 
Program (SOTP-9). 

 FI-18R (Month/Year): Transfer to a TDCJ 

rehabilitation treatment program. Release to 
parole only after program completion and no 
earlier than 18 months from specified date. 

Such TDCJ program shall be either the Sex 
Offender Treatment Program (SOTP-18), or the 
InnerChange Freedom Initiative (IFI). 
 

 CU/FI (Month/Year-Cause Number): 

Designate the date on which the offender 
serving consecutive sentences would have 
been eligible for release on parole if the offender 
had been sentenced to serve a single sentence. 
This date shall be within a three-year 
incarceration period following the panel 
decision. 

 

Denial Votes 

 NR (Month/Year): Deny parole and set time for 

next parole consideration.  State law requires 
annual reviews except for offenders serving a 
sentence for an offense listed in Section 
508.149(a), Government Code, or for an 
offense punishable as a felony of the second or 
third degree under Section 22.04, Penal Code. 
For these offenders, the next review date 
(month/year) may be set up to five years from 
the panel decision date, but in no event shall it 
be less than one calendar year from the panel 
decision date. 

 SA: Deny parole with no regular subsequent 

review, requiring offender to serve balance of 
sentence, unless eligible for mandatory 
supervision consideration prior to projected 
release date. 

 CU/NR (Month/Year-Cause Number): Deny 

favorable action and set the next review date at 
one year from the panel decision date. If the 
offender is serving a sentence for an offense 
listed in Section 508.149(a), Government Code, 
or for an offense punishable as a felony of the 
second or third degree under Section 22.04, 
Penal Code, the next review date (month/year) 
may be set at any date in the five-year 
incarceration period following the panel decision 
date, but in no event shall it be less than one 
calendar year from the panel decision date. 

 CU/SA (Month/Year-Cause Number): If the 

offender is serving a sentence for an offense 
listed in Section 508.149(a), Government Code, 
or for an offense punishable as a felony of the 

second or third degree under Section 22.04, 
Penal Code; deny release and order serve-all, 
but in no event shall this be utilized if the 
offender’s maximum expiration date is over five 
years from the date of the panel decision. If the  


