
 

 

 

  

 
 

 

  

  

  

  

 

      

  

 

   

     

  

 

   

  

 

 

 

   

       

  

 

     

  

 

      

   

 

   

   

 

    

   

    

        

 

 

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE

PAROLE DIVISION

POLICY AND

OPERATING PROCEDURE

NUMBER: PD/POP-3.1.6

DATE: 11/04/15

PAGE: 1 of 6

SUPERSEDES: 07/14/15

SUBJECT: RESTITUTION/POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION REIMBURSEMENT/FEES/

COLLECTION PROCESS

AUTHORITY: Texas Government Code § 508.182, 508.186, 508.189, 508.322; Texas Code of 

Criminal Procedure Art. 42.037(H) and (O); General Appropriations Act, 84th Leg. R. S., Art. V, Riders 

29 and 30.

PURPOSE: To establish procedures for the collection of restitution, post-secondary education 

reimbursement, and fees required as conditions of release.

DEFINITIONS:

Active Supervision: All persons subject to the supervision of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice-

Parole Division (TDCJ-PD) with the exception of those for whom an active pre-revocation warrant is in

effect, and for those who are no longer required to report.

Cashier: TDCJ-PD staff who is responsible for collecting and accounting for payment of funds in district 

parole offices (DPOs), in accordance with procedures established in the Cashier’s Manual.

Crime Victim Compensation Fee: An eight-dollar ($8.00) monthly fee assessed to all clients under 

active supervision by the TDCJ-PD in Texas whose offense occurred on or after August 30, 1993.

Offender Information Management System (OIMS): A computerized system that maintains and tracks 

case management information for clients on supervision.

Post-Secondary Education Reimbursement (PSER): Clients who enroll in post-secondary education 

courses at the expense of the State of Texas while incarcerated at a Texas Department of Criminal 

Justice-Correctional Institutions Division (TDCJ-CID) facility shall reimburse the State for the costs of 

such secondary education programs. PSER is a statutorily mandated condition imposed by the Texas

Board of Pardons and Paroles (BPP).



 

                   

           

 

 

      

    

  

        

 

 

      

        

          

            

 

 

       

       

    

  

 

 

 

  

  

     

       

    

 

       

       

    

   

  

    

    

 

 

     

    

      

      

  

 

  

Restitution: Payment by a client to the victim of the offense for financial loss sustained as a result of the

offense.

Sexual Assault Program Fund: A five-dollar ($5.00) monthly fee assessed to sex offenders under active

supervision on or after August 30, 1993. The applicable offenses are Indecent Exposure, Indecency with 

a Child, Sexual Assault, Aggravated Sexual Assault, Prohibited Sexual Conduct, Sexual Performance

by a Child, Possession or Promotion of Child Pornography, and Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Young

Child or Children.

Sex Offender Public Notice Fee: Clients required to register under Chapter 62 of the Code of Criminal 

Procedures, and for whom law enforcement authorities were required to publish public notice of the

client’s release, must pay a fee that equals the actual cost to the law enforcement authority for publishing

that notice. The Sex Offender Public Notice Fee applies only to high risk clients whose offense occurred

prior to September 1, 2005.

Supervision Fee: A ten-dollar ($10.00) monthly fee assessed to all clients under supervision by the

TDCJ-PD in Texas, including clients supervised under the Interstate Compact. Texas cases accepted

through Interstate Compact for supervision in other states are excluded from this fee payment; however, 

may be subject to the supervision fee the receiving state charges for clients in that state.  

PROCEDURE:

I.	 RESTITUTION

A.	 Prior to the client’s release (from TDCJ-CID or custody), Review and Release Processing 

(RRP) staff shall review all Judgments and Sentences for active offenses only to 

determine whether the client has been ordered to pay restitution.  

1.	 If the client owes restitution and the amount is not determined, RRP staff shall

forward the information, prior to certificate issuance, to the Central File

Coordination Unit (CFCU). CFCU staff shall verify the amount of restitution and 

the required victim information to process payments. After verification, CFCU 

staff shall return the information and include the CFCU Restitution Research form 

(RRP-43) to the RRP requestor and Accounting and Business Services. If it is 

determined the client owes restitution, RRP staff shall process in accordance with 

PD/POP-2.2.25, Imposing Mandated Special Conditions.

2.	 If, due to imminent release, the above process has not been completed prior to the 

client’s release, the release certificate shall reflect Special Condition “R” (To Be

Determined [TBD]). The parole officer shall contact Accounting and Business 

Services to verify the amount of restitution owed and request imposition of the

condition.
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B. If a client owes restitution, the parole officer shall:

1.	 Instruct the client to provide paystubs for any current employment within the 

previous calendar month at the next office contact. 

2.	 Update the OIMS Employment Screen with the client’s employment information,

including the job title and net income. This information will populate on the

Income Screen.  

3.	 Instruct clients who owe restitution to pay 10% of their net income toward 

restitution, regardless of the amount of income or expenses.

4.	 Complete and print an Advisement Form indicating the required 10% of the net 

income restitution payment amount, no later than 60 calendar days after the

client’s initial arrival.

5.	 Complete and submit any subsequent Advisement Form, indicating a change to 

the required restitution payment amount no later than five (5) business days after

receiving information of any financial change to Advisement Form-Accounting

& Business Services (advisement.form_abs@tdcj.texas.gov).

6.	 Complete and submit an updated Advisement Form indicating the required 

restitution payment amount within the calendar month of the anniversary date of

the last Advisement Form, if there are no financial changes for a calendar year. 

7.	 Read the Advisement Form to the client and have the client sign it.  

8.	 Update the OIMS Contacts screen to reflect that an Advisement Form has been

read to and signed by the client.

9.	 Image the initial and subsequent Advisement Forms in the OIMS imaging system 

within three (3) business days.

10.	 Staff the case with the respective unit supervisor for deferment of the Supervision 

Fee. If the Supervision Fee is deferred, the client shall apply $10.00 towards the 

restitution balance in addition to the required 10% of the client’s net income. The

deferral of the Supervision Fee does not require a Texas BPP transmittal. The

eight dollar ($8.00) Crime Victim Compensation Fund fee shall not be waived.

11.	 Inform the client to mail restitution payments to the following address, if the

amount owed cannot be paid before the client’s discharge date:

Accounting and Business Services

P.O. Box 4015


Huntsville, TX 77342


Clients may pay the restitution balance in a lump sum or make monthly payments

until the restitution balance is paid in full.
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12.	 Submit an email to Restitution_ABS@tdcj.texas.gov or the Restitution Program

Supervisor III within five (5) business days requesting confirmation that the 

client’s restitution is paid in full. Within five (5) business days of receipt of

confirmation, the parole officer shall satisfy Special Condition “R” in the OIMS

and image a copy of the confirmation email into the OIMS imaging system.

Special Condition “R” may not be satisfied without written confirmation from the 

Accounting and Business Services Section or the Restitution Program Supervisor

III that restitution is paid in full.

II.	 POST SECONDARY EDUCATION REIMBURSEMENT

Once PSER is paid in full, the parole officer shall document in the OIMS the date the client made

the final payment as the date the client satisfied the special condition.

III.	 SUPERVISION FEES

A.	 Applicable supervision fees are assessed each month regardless of financial ability, and 

a current balance is automatically updated in the Fees Section of the OIMS.

B.	 The $10.00 supervision fee shall be collected monthly, unless deferred for restitution 

purposes. The client remains responsible for payment of the supervision fee when it is 

deferred. Additionally, the client is responsible for any supervision fee balance owed 

from a previous period of supervision.

C.	 The $8.00 Crime Victim Compensation Fund fee shall be collected and applied to the

Crime Victim Compensation Fund. 

IV.	 COLLECTION PROCESS

A.	 Parole officers shall provide detailed instructions to clients regarding supervision fees, 

restitution, and other financial obligations. Instructions shall be written on an Advisement 

Form and signed by the parole officer and client. Instructions shall be specific and include

the amount the client is required to pay each month, location where the payment is to be

made, and method of making payments. Advisement Forms shall be imaged in the OIMS

imaging system within three (3) business days from the date of completion. 

B.	 Cashiers shall be responsible for collecting, issuing a receipt, and accounting for all

payments received from clients, in accordance with policy and procedure as outlined in 

the Cashier’s Manual.

C.	 Payments shall be received only in the form of a money order or cashier’s check payable

to the TDCJ.  Cash and personal checks will not be accepted.
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1.	 Parole officers shall indicate payments on the Verification Table in the OIMS

monthly.

2.	 If the client fails to make payments as directed, the parole officer shall document

failure to pay fees in the Contacts screen in the OIMS.

3.	 The cashier shall issue two receipts when funds are received: one shall be

forwarded to the parole officer for verification and the other shall be given to the 

client. The parole officer shall update the Verification Table of the Contacts

screen in the OIMS. The receipt does not need to be maintained in the district 

parole file and may be disposed of after entry into the verification table is 

confirmed. 

D.	 Supervision Fees, Crime Victim Compensation Fees, and Sexual Assault Program Fees

may be paid with one cashier’s check or money order. Restitution, PSER, and the Sex

Offender Public Notice Fees require a separate cashier’s check or money order for each.

E.	 Parole officers collecting payments outside of the DPO shall:

1.	 Verify the cashier’s check or money order is filled out correctly, payable to TDCJ,

signed by the client, contains a complete address with a zip code, and the client’s

TDCJ/SID number.

2.	 Complete a receipt for each money order or cashier’s check indicating whether it

is for fees, restitution, PSER, or for the Sex Offender Public Notice Fee. Parole

officers shall use a TDCJ-PD receipt book available from the cashier.  If payment 

is for fees, note “automatic distribution” on the receipt. If payment is for

delinquent payments, note “exception” on the receipt and to which type of fee the

delinquent payment applies.

3.	 Provide the pink copy of the receipt to the client. The white copy will be secured

to the money order or cashier’s check and submitted to the cashier or lockbox 

upon return to the DPO.  The gold copy will remain in the receipt book.

4.	 Reconcile the receipt book by ensuring each cashier’s check or money order has 

been entered, and a money order is turned in for each receipt in the book, prior to 

placing the above documents in the secure lockbox.

F.	 Receipt books shall be kept in a designated area accessible to parole officers on duty when 

the cashier is absent. Persons authorized to accept collections in the absence of the cashier

shall adhere to procedures cited in Section IV. Money orders and receipts shall be

deposited in a secure lockbox arranged by the cashier.

G.	 Appropriate interventions shall be applied whenever the client fails to comply with 

payment instructions in accordance with PD/POP-4.1.1, Processing Violations of the 

Rules and Conditions of Release. 
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H.	 Each month, unit supervisors shall review all district Supervision Fees, Crime Victim

Compensation Fees, PSER, Restitution, and Sexual Assault Program Fees collection

reports to verify that parole officers applied interventions to clients who failed to make

the required payments as instructed, in accordance with PD/POP-4.1.1, Processing 

Violations of the Rules and Conditions of Release.

V.	 FEES, FINES, AND COURT COSTS

A.	 The parole officer shall, upon the client’s initial report, instruct the client to check with 

the clerk of the court of original jurisdiction regarding any unexpired outstanding fees,

fines, and court costs owed by the client. The parole officer shall utilize the TDCJ 

Payment of Court Costs form (PDFO-0501) and fax it to the respective district clerk’s 

office, and, upon receipt of the completed information, image it in the OIMS Imaging 

System. Parole officers shall inform clients of their responsibility to pay outstanding

balances owed on active offenses, court-imposed fees, fines, and court costs, by providing 

the client with the location of where payments shall be made. The parole officer shall

document this information in the Contacts Section of the OIMS.

B.	 At the next scheduled visit, the client will be required to provide verification from the

court clerk of payment in full or the payment plan, if payments are required. If a payment 

plan is approved, the client will provide verification to the parole officer at each scheduled 

visit. Once fees or court costs have been paid in full, the client will provide the parole

officer with verification. Interventions shall be imposed if the client fails to comply in

accordance with Section IV.A.

Stuart Jenkins

Director, Parole Division
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