Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Victim Services Division

TRAINING OPPORTUNITY

Victim Impact Statement:
The Victim’s Voice in the Criminal Justice Process

Training Date & Time: August 27, 2014; 9:00 A.M. —12:00 P.M.
Location: Permian Basin Law Enforcement Academy
4214 FM 307
Midland, TX 79706
Hosted By: Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission

Seating is Limited — Register by August 13th

What You Will Gain From This Training:

e Increased knowledge of the important role the Victim Impact Statement plays at key stages of
the criminal justice process;

e Increased knowledge and awareness of the statutory responsibilities of the various criminal
justice entities with regards to Victim Impact Statements;

e Familiarity with the revisions to the Victim Impact Statement forms and statistical reporting
requirements; and

e Ideas for developing VIS standards in your community that will help to ensure victims’ voices are
heard at all stages of the criminal justice process.

Who Should Attend?

e Victim assistance and criminal justice professionals with statutory responsibilities for the
handling of victim impact statements including: victim assistance coordinators in district and
county attorneys’ offices, prosecutors, court coordinators, district clerks, judges, probation
officers, law enforcement personnel, and sheriffs’ department staff who are responsible for
transporting/sending pen packets to TDCJ.

Training Credit for Attending:

¢ 3 hours of training credit (general credit) H‘J \ \ 2y
e 3 Participatory hours of CLE credit (Judges and Prosecutors) %’x ( j f

e 3 hours of TCOLE (formerly TCLEOSE) credit (Law Enforcement) P AN e/
¢ 3 hour of Social Work and Licensed Professional Counselor Credit

How to Register:
Complete the attached registration form and submit by email to mary.mccaffity@tdcj.state.tx.us.
or by fax to 512-452-1025.




Texas Department of Criminal Justice
Victim Services Division

TRAINING OPPORTUNITY

Victim Impact Statement:
The Victim’s Voice in the Criminal Justice Process

Training Date & Time: August 27, 2014; 9:00 A.M. —12:00 P.M.
Location: Permian Basin Law Enforcement Academy
4214 FM 307
Midland, TX 79706
Hosted By: Permian Basin Regional Planning Commission

Submit your completed registration form by Name: Mary McCaffity
August 13" to: Email: mary.mccaffity@tdcj.state.tx.us
Fax: 512-452-1025

REGISTRATION FORM

Name:

Organization:

Mailing Address:

Zip:

County: Email:

Work Phone #:

Please indicate the type of Continuing Education Credit you would like to receive upon completion of

this Victim Impact Statement training:

[ General credit [ Social Work Credit [ TCOLE credit (Law Enforcement)

[~ MCLE Credit (Prosecution) [~ Licensed Professional Counseling Credit




